WGT

Movies

Last Update: 2019-05-25

Sunday, 09th June 2019

Der Bundesbeauftragte für Stasi-Unterlagen (Federal Commission for the Records of the State Security Service of the former GDR)

11.00, 14.00 and 16.00

Film (in English): “The Burning Wall - Dissent and Opposition behind the Berlin Wall.”

The film by Hava Kohav Beller documents the development of the opposition in the GDR - from the first isolated actions of the resistance to the so-called peaceful revolution that led to the fall of the Berlin Wall and the collapse of the GDR regime.

Monday, 10th June 2019

Passage Kinos (Cinema)

11.30

Film: “Control“ (USA/Great Britain/Japan/Australia, 2007, Direction: Anton Corbijn, 125 min., FSK 12, Original version in English with German subtitles)

Ian Curtis is 19 years old when he meets Debbie. A little later they are married and have a daughter. Curtis joins the band Joy Division as a singer, and with his ominous voice and dark charisma he quickly makes it an insider tip, even outside his hometown of Manchester. But he can't cope with the prospect of quick fame. An affair with the journalist Annik accelerates the end of his marriage and increases his feelings of guilt. Epileptic seizures and a severe depression escalate Curtis' descent into his personal hell. The evening before the band’s first tour of America, he comes to a momentous decision...

The touching biographical film is the directorial debut of the globally successful photographer and director Anton Corbijn. It is based on the book “Touching From A Distance”, which Ian's wife Deborah wrote about him after his death.

There are 155 seats available for WGT visitors in the "Universum" hall of the Passage Kinos.
Reservations are not possible.

WGT

Film

Letzte Aktualisierung: 25.05.2019

Sonnabend, 08. Juni 2019

Der Bundesbeauftragte für Stasi-Unterlagen

11.00 Uhr, 14.00 Uhr und 16.00 Uhr

Film: „The Burning Wall - Dissent and Opposition behind the Berlin Wall.”

Der englischsprachige Film von Hava Kohav Beller zeichnet die Entwicklung der Opposition in der DDR nach - von den ersten vereinzelten Aktionen des Widerstandes bis hin zur sogenannten friedlichen Revolution, die zum Sturz der Berliner Mauer und zum Zusammenbruch des DDR-Regimes geführt haben soll.

Montag, 10. Juni 2019

Passage Kinos

11.30 Uhr

Film: „Control“ (Spielfilm, USA/Großbritannien/Japan/Australien 2007, Regie: Anton Corbijn, 125 Min, FSK 12, OmU)

Ian Curtis ist 19 Jahre alt, als er Debbie kennenlernt. Wenig später sind sie verheiratet und bekommen eine Tochter. Curtis stößt als Sänger zu der Band Joy Division, die er mit seiner ominösen Stimme und seinem düsteren Charisma schnell zum Geheimtip auch außerhalb seiner Heimatstadt Manchester macht. Doch er kommt mit der Aussicht auf schnellen Ruhm nicht zurecht. Eine Affäre mit der Journalistin Annik beschleunigt das Ende seiner Ehe und verstärkt seine Schuldgefühle. Epileptische Anfälle und eine schwere Depression lassen Curtis' Abstieg in seine persönliche Hölle eskalieren. Am Abend vor der ersten Amerika-Tournee faßt er einen folgenschweren Entschluß...

Der berührende biografische Film ist das Regie-Debüt des weltweit erfolgreichen Fotografen und Regisseurs Anton Corbijn. Er beruht auf dem Buch „Touching From A Distance”, das Ians Ehefrau Deborah nach seinem Tod über ihn schrieb.

Im Saal „Universum“ der Passage-Kinos stehen für WGT-Besucher 155 Plätze zur Verfügung.
Eine Reservierung ist nicht möglich.